xkcd Tasks Source: xkcd

News:

  • [2/2/2023] Please note the updated instructions in the Homework 1 handout on how to submit. You should submit both your PDF writeup and your code on Gradescope; there are separate assignments for each. Download the starter code here. The assignment is due Tuesday, February 7.
  • [1/31/2023] The expectations for the Project Proposal (due Thursday, February 16) have been posted here.

Some problems in computer science admit precise algorithmic solutions. Checking if someone is in a national park is, in some sense, straightforward: get the user’s location, get the boundaries of all national parks, and check if the user location lies within any of those boundaries.

Other problems are less straightforward. Suppose you want your computer to determine if an image contains a bird. To your computer, an image is just a matrix of red, green, and blue pixels. How do you even begin to write the function is_bird(image)?

For problems like this, we turn to a powerful family of methods known as machine learning. The zen of machine learning is the following:

  1. I don’t know how to solve my problem.
  2. But I can obtain a dataset that describes what I want my computer to do.
  3. So, I will write a program that learns the desired behavior from the data.

This class will provide a broad introduction to machine learning. We will start with supervised learning, where our goal is to learn an input-to-output mapping given a set of correct input-output pairs. Next, we will study unsupervised learning, which seeks to identify hidden structure in data. Finally, we will cover reinforcement learning, in which an agent (e.g., a robot) learns from observations it makes as it explores the world.

Course Staff

Robin Jia
Robin Jia
Instructor

Ting-Yun Chang
Ting-Yun (Charlotte)
Chang
Teaching Assistant

Qinyuan Ye
Qinyuan Ye
Teaching Assistant

Abid Hassan
Abid Hassan
Course Producer

Zhihan Wang
Zhihan Wang
Course Producer

Phakawat Wangkriangkri
Phakawat
Wangkriangkri
Course Producer

Logistics

Prerequisites

This class will also use some basic multivariate calculus (taking partial derivatives and gradients). However, knowledge of single-variable calculus is sufficient as we will introduce the required material during class and section.

Schedule

All assignments are due by 11:59pm on the indicated date.

Date Topic Related Readings Assignments
Tue Jan 10 Introduction (slides pptx pdf) PML 1 Homework 0 released (code)
Thu Jan 12 Linear Regression (pdf, code) PML 7.8, 8.2  
Fri Jan 13 Section: Probability, Linear Algebra, & Calculus Review (handout)    
Tue Jan 17 Featurization, Convexity, Normal Equations (pdf) PML 2.6.3, 8.1, 11.1-11.2  
Thu Jan 19 Maximum Likelihood Estimation, Logistic Regression (pdf) PML 4.2, 10.1-10.2 Homework 0 due
Fri Jan 20 Section: Python & numpy tutorial (colab)    
Tue Jan 24 Softmax Regression, Second-order optimization (pdf) PML 8.3, 10.3  
Thu Jan 26 Regularization, Bias and Variance (pdf) PML 4.5, 4.7, 11.3-11.4 Homework 1 released (handout, starter code)
Fri Jan 27 Section: Homework 0 Discussion    
Tue Jan 31 Generative Classifiers, Naive Bayes (pdf) PML 9.3-9.4  
Thu Feb 2 Naive Bayes continued, Nearest Neighbors (pdf) PML 16.1, 16.3  
Fri Feb 3 Section: Cross-Validation, Evaluation Metrics (pdf)    
Tue Feb 7 Kernel methods PML 17.1 Homework 1 due
Thu Feb 9 Support Vector Machines, Generalized Loss Functions PML 4.3, 17.3  
Fri Feb 10 Section: TBA    
Tue Feb 14 Generalization bounds PML 5.4  
Thu Feb 16 Introduction to Neural Networks, backpropagation PML 13.1-13.3 Project Proposal due
Fri Feb 17 Section: Homework 1 Discussion    
Tue Feb 21 Dropout, Neural Network Optimizers PML 13.4-13.5  
Thu Feb 23 Convolutional Neural Networks, Weight Sharing PML 14.1-14.2  
Fri Feb 24 Section: Pytorch tutorial    
Tue Feb 28 Recurrent Neural Networks, Vanishing Gradients PML 15.1-15.2  
Thu Mar 2 Attention, Transformers PML 15.4-15.7 Homework 2 due
Fri Mar 3 Section: Midterm preparation    
Tue Mar 7 Decision Trees, Ensembling PML 18.1-18.5  
Thu Mar 9 In-class Midterm Exam    
Fri Mar 10 Section: Homework 2 Discussion    
Mar 13-17 No class or section (Spring break)    
Tue Mar 21 k-Means Clustering, Gaussian Mixture Models PML 21.3  
Thu Mar 23 Expectation Maximization, Hidden Markov Models PML 21.4, PML2 8.1-8.2 Project Midterm Report due
Fri Mar 24 Section: Midterm Exam Discussion    
Tue Mar 28 Inference and Learning with Hidden Markov Models PML2 29.1-29.4  
Thu Mar 30 Dimensionality Reduction, Principal Component Analysis PML 20.1, 20.4  
Fri Mar 31 Section: TBA    
Tue Apr 4 Embedding models, Word Vectors PML 20.3, 20.5  
Thu Apr 6 Multi-Armed Bandits PML2 34.1-34.4 Homework 3 due
Fri Apr 7 Section: TBA    
Tue Apr 11 Markov Decision Processes, Model-based Reinforcement Learning PML2 34.5-34.6, 35.1, 35.4  
Thu Apr 13 Model-Free Reinforcement Learning PML2 35.2-35.3  
Fri Apr 14 Section: Homework 3 Discussion    
Tue Apr 18 Robustness, Adversarial Examples, Distribution Shift PML2 19.1-19.8  
Thu Apr 20 Fairness in Machine Learning FAML 1-4 Homework 4 due
Fri Apr 21 Section: Final Exam preparation    
Tue Apr 25 Active Learning PML2 34.7  
Thu Apr 27 Conclusion    
Fri Apr 28 Section: Homework 4 Discussion / Final Exam preparation    
Thu May 4 Final Exam, 2-4pm   Project Final Report due May 9

Grading

Grades will be based on homework assignments (40%), a class project (20%), and two exams (40%).

Homework Assignments (40% total):

Final Project (20% total). The final project will proceed in three stages:

Exams (40% total):

Late days

You have 6 late days you may use on any assignment excluding the Project Final Report. Each late day allows you to submit the assignment 24 hours later than the original deadline. You may use a maximum of 3 late days per assignment. If you are working in a group for the project, submitting the project proposal or midterm report one day late means that each member of the group spends a late day. We do not allow use of late days for the final project report because we must grade the projects in time to submit final course grades.

If you have used up all your late days and submit an assignment late, you will lose 10% of your grade on that assignment for each day late. We will not accept any assignments more than 3 days late.

Final project

The final project can be done individually or in groups of up to 3. This is your chance to freely explore machine learning methods and how they can be applied to a task of our choice. You will also learn about best practices for developing machine learning methods—inspecting your data, establishing baselines, and analyzing your errors.

More information about the final project will be released at a later date. A list of example projects is now available at here.

Resources

While there is no required textbook for this class, you may find the following useful:

To review mathematical background material, you may also find the following useful:

Other Notes

Collaboration policy and academic integrity: Our goal is to maintain an optimal learning environment. You may discuss the homework problems at a high level with other students, but you should not look at another student’s solutions. Trying to find solutions online or from any other sources for any homework or project is prohibited, will result in zero grade and will be reported. Using AI tools to automatically generate solutions to written or programming problems is also prohibited. To prevent any future plagiarism, uploading any material from the course (your solutions, quizzes etc.) on the internet is prohibited, and any violations will also be reported. Please be considerate, and help us help everyone get the best out of this course.

Please remember the expectations set forth in the USC Student Handbook. General principles of academic honesty include the concept of respect for the intellectual property of others, the expectation that individual work will be submitted unless otherwise allowed by an instructor, and the obligations both to protect one’s own academic work from misuse by others as well as to avoid using another’s work as one’s own. All students are expected to understand and abide by these principles. Suspicion of academic dishonesty may lead to a referral to the Office of Academic Integrity for further review.

Students with disabilities: Any student requesting academic accommodations based on a disability is required to register with Disability Services and Programs (DSP) each semester. A letter of verification for approved accommodations can be obtained from DSP. Please be sure the letter is delivered to the instructor as early in the semester as possible.